Grok Costs Too Much, Says Musk: Is The AI Flat Rate Model Shifting?
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Grok Costs Too Much, Says Musk: Is The AI Flat Rate Model Shifting? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but gave no figures or details of a specific change. OpenAI has also introduced account-sharing limits and plans a shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance, pointing to tighter controls on heavy use while fixed-price subscriptions remain available.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” a statement that comes as OpenAI tightens some subscription rules and prepares to combine ChatGPT and Codex usage allowances. Musk did not disclose financial figures or announce a specific price or usage change, leaving unclear whether Grok Bot users will face new limits.

Musk’s comment came in reply to an X user who asked for a Grok Bot reset, saying people had run through their usage quickly that week. Musk responded: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The post referred to Grok Bot, xAI’s task-performing agent, not necessarily all Grok chat use. Musk supplied no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not say what had changed.

According to xAI’s pricing information described by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, Grok Bot is included with the Premium plan at $30 a month, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200, and is not included with Free or Plus. Its usage draws from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and xAI models in the Cursor coding tool. xAI says consumption depends on agent steps, tokens and the work requested, rather than simply the number of messages.

OpenAI’s changes point to a similar distinction between a subscription price and the amount of use included. Its help center says limits apply to how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one card or device. From December, the company says ChatGPT and Codex will use a shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans, measured in tokens. OpenAI says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter.

At a glance
updateWhen: Musk’s post was published Nov. 1, 2026;…
The developmentElon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainable relative to revenue, amid new OpenAI limits on shared accounts and usage allowances.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Subscriptions Meet Usage Meters

The developments matter because users may pay a fixed monthly fee without receiving unlimited access to every feature. A subscription can still offer predictable access, while the provider sets usage pools, model-specific limits or account-sharing rules to manage the cost of intensive tasks.

That distinction is especially relevant to AI agents, which can carry out multi-step work in the background. A simple chat exchange and a prolonged research or coding task may consume very different amounts of computing resources. OpenAI’s rate information, as summarized by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, shows that output tokens from its most capable model can use an allowance about 100 times faster than those from its cheapest model. The comparison illustrates why counting messages alone may not describe how much a user consumes.

For businesses, the changes raise practical budgeting questions: what is covered by each seat, how usage is measured, and what happens when allowances run out? For individual subscribers, the immediate issue is to check the provider’s usage terms before upgrading or buying additional capacity. Musk’s post signals cost pressure, but does not establish that Grok Bot prices or limits have changed.

Products Worth Considering

Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft, 64GB, 11-Inch Color Display with Premium Pen

Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft, 64GB, 11-Inch Color Display with Premium Pen

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Recent Changes at OpenAI

The Grok Bot comment follows a period of adjustments across paid AI services. OpenAI’s help materials and product updates describe both restrictions and increases in included usage, rather than a single move toward lower allowances. On Oct. 29, the company said it was increasing Work and Codex allowances for some high-tier plans and cancelling a planned reduction for Pro 200.

OpenAI’s release notes, as recounted by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, specify that Pro 100 and Pro 500 receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while the planned Pro 200 cut was cancelled. A separate post by OpenAI employee Thibault Sottiaux described increases across more tiers; the company’s release notes provide the narrower published account.

The reported sequence shows providers changing both sides of the offer: the allowance customers receive and the rules governing how subscriptions can be shared or combined. It does not, by itself, establish that the industry is ending flat monthly pricing. Rather, the available announcements describe fixed-price plans whose usage terms vary by product, task and plan.

““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””

— Elon Musk, on X, Nov. 1, 2026

Limits and Costs Still Undisclosed

Musk did not say how much Grok Bot costs xAI to serve, how much revenue it generates, or what financial period his comparison covered. He also did not specify whether xAI changed the weekly pool, plans to change it, or intends to adjust prices. The wording “was unsustainably high” does not confirm that a cost reduction or usage change has already taken place.

ThorstenMeyerAI.com reported that Grok’s official account attributed usage adjustments to costs and referred to a dashboard fault that temporarily showed usage as too high. The article said it could not locate the original post, so that account remains reported rather than independently confirmed in the supplied material. There is no confirmed figure for how many users were affected or whether the reported usage complaints reflected a system change, the dashboard issue, or differing task demands.

OpenAI’s help information, as described in the source, does not publish a numerical cap for its card and device subscription limits. The full mechanics of the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance, including how users will see consumption and what happens after reaching it, are also not detailed in the supplied material.

Watch for Published Plan Rules

The next dated change in the source material is OpenAI’s planned shared allowance for ChatGPT and Codex, which is due to start in December 2026. Subscribers will need to check OpenAI’s updated help and usage pages for the precise allowance, covered tools and account rules as the change approaches.

For Grok Bot, the next meaningful confirmation would need to come from xAI or Musk: a published usage adjustment, updated plan terms, or figures explaining how the service is funded. Until then, the post establishes a cost concern but not a new price, cap or reset policy. Readers considering a plan should rely on current official pricing and usage pages, rather than treating the post as confirmation of an impending change.

Key Questions

Did Musk announce a price increase for Grok Bot?

No. Musk said serving Grok Bot was unsustainably costly relative to revenue, but did not announce a price increase or any other specific plan change.

Does Musk’s comment cover all Grok use?

His post named Grok Bot, xAI’s agent. The supplied material does not establish that his comment applies to all Grok chat usage.

What OpenAI usage change is planned for December?

OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one shared, token-measured allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. The supplied source says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter.

Are AI subscriptions becoming pay-per-use?

The developments do not show that fixed monthly subscriptions are ending. They do show providers attaching usage pools and other limits to some plans; the exact terms differ by service and remain subject to change.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

From Learning AI To Shaping What Comes Next

OpenAI has published a page about teens learning, planning and shaping AI’s future, but its format, timing and participation details are not confirmed.

Anthropic Claude Vs. OpenAI Plans: A Study Of Subscription Value

The Register reported a study favoring Claude’s subscription value, but the study, plans and measurement criteria are not identified in the available details.

2026’S Most Efficient Portable Power Stations For AI Use

Discover the top portable power stations of 2026 optimized for AI applications, balancing capacity, portability, and efficiency for various needs.

NIST Curve Seeds And 1990S Timestamps: Claude’s Reported Analysis

A report says Claude linked NIST elliptic-curve seed data to 1990s timestamps, but the claim lacks technical details and independent validation.